Dilip Vengsarkar Gets Lifetime Achievement Award from India Cricket Board

Dilip Vengsarkar is the only non-English batsman to score three Test hundreds at Lord's.

Updated: November 18, 2014 14:48 IST
  • Total Shares
File photo: Former Indian cricketers Dilip Vengsarkar (right) and Earapalli Prasanna share a light moment during the ceremony to celebrate 150 years of Eden Gardens recently.


Former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar will receive the Col. CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award this year. Kapil Dev won this award last year (2013) while Sunil Gavaskar got it in 2012.

The BCCI said in a statement on Tuesday that Vengsarkar was nominated by a committee comprising senior journalist Shekhar Gupta, interim Board president Shivlal Yadav and secretary Sanjay Patel. The eighth annual BCCI awards ceremony will be held on Friday evening in Mumbai. Vengsarkar will receive a citation, trophy and cheque for Rs 25 lakhs. (Also read: Bhuvneshwar Kumar wins ICC People's Choice Award)

Other than Vengsarkar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar will get the Polly Umrigar Award, for being India's best international cricketer in the 2013-14 season. The award comprises a trophy and a cheque for Rs 5 lakhs.

One of India's best batsmen ever, Vengsarkar came into national prominence with a belligerent hundred for Mumbai against the Rest of India in the Irani Cup game at the start of the 1975-76 season. He was picked in the Indian team for the twin-tours of New Zealand and the West Indies later that season, and he made his Test debut against New Zealand at Auckland.

In the years that followed, Vengsarkar played some extraordinary innings against different and challenging opponents and excelled especially against the West Indies, the most successful team of the era. He is the only non-English batsman to score three Test hundreds at Lord's. The third of those hundreds - an unbeaten 126 in 1986 - set up India's first Test win at the venue.

The second Indian to have played 100 Tests, Vengsarkar was rated the world's number one batsman in the year 1986-87. He was a member of the Indian team that won the World Cup in 1983 and the World Championship of Cricket in 1985. Vengsarkar led India in 10 Tests in 1987-89. He was Chairman of the BCCI's Talent Research Development Committee for three years, and the Chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the period, 2006-08.

Other winners: Parvez Rasool, J&K (Lala Amarnath Trophy for best all-rounder in Ranji Trophy); R. Vinay Kumar, Karnataka (Lala Amarnath Trophy for best all-rounder in domestic tournaments); Kedar Jadhav, Maharashtra (Madhavrao Scindia Award for highest runs in Ranji Trophy); Rishi Dhawan, Himachal Pradesh (Madhavrao Scindia award for highest wickets in Ranji Trophy); Rahul Tripathi, Maharashtra (MA Chidambaram Trophy for best under-25 cricketer); B. Anirudh, Hyderabad (MA Chidambaram Trophy for best under-19 cricketer); Shubham Gill, Punjab (MA Chidambaram Trophy for best under-16 cricketer); Smriti Mandhana, Maharashtra (MA Chidambaram Trophy for best junior woman cricketer); Anil Chaudhary (Best umpire); Maharashtra Cricket Association and Railway Sports Promotion Board (best overall performance in 2013-14 season).

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment