Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli Among 4 Indians in ICC ODI Team of the Year; Double Whammy for Mitchell Johnson

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year, Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami complete the Indian quartet. There are no Indians in the Test Team of the Year

Updated: November 14, 2014 14:21 IST
  • Total Shares
MS Dhoni skipper 14
File photo of Indian skipper MS Dhoni.

© AP

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli are among four Indians named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year named by the game's governing body on Friday. Mohammed Shami figures among the pacers while the world's highest ODI run-getter Rohit Sharma has been named the 12th man. Dhoni is the captain. (Also read: Virat Kohli in star-studded line-up of ICC World Cup 2015 ambassadors)

There are no Indians or Pakistanis in the ODI Test squad. Interestingly, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews has been made captain of the Test team and there are two more Lankans - Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath - in the star-studded line-up.

Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson was announced as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year. The 33-year-old was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. Johnson is also the third Australian after Ricky Ponting (2006) and Michael Clarke (2013) to win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

During the voting period between August 26, 2013 and September 17, 2014, Johnson claimed 59 Test wickets at an average of 15.23, with best bowling figures of seven for 40 runs against England in Adelaide last December. In ODIs, Johnson claimed 21 wickets in 16 games.

Mitchell Johnson Moustache Prominent AFP
File photo of Australian fast bowler Mitchell Johnson.


Since the inception of the awards in 2004, Johnson is only the second player after compatriot Ponting to win the Garfield Sobers Trophy twice. While Johnson previously won this award in 2009, Ponting won back-to-back awards in 2006 and 2007. Other winners include Rahul David (2004), Jacques Kallis and Andrew Flintoff (2005), Shivnarine Chanderpaul (2008), Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Jonathan Trott (2011), Kumar Sangakkara (2012) and Michael Clarke (2013).

"Aggressive fast bowlers are something you'd have seen back in the day with the likes of (Dennis) Lillee and (Jeff) Thomson. For me, it's nice to be able to contribute to the team and do the job that I've always thought I've been able to do. I suppose it comes down to the attitude I've got, the belief and the confidence. I'm very happy with where I am at the moment and I want to keep getting better as a cricketer," said Johnson

"This is something that I'll be able to look back on in time when my career is over and be exceptionally proud of. I want to thank everyone for their support, especially my team-mates, support staff and my family for everything they've done for me. I wouldn't be sitting here today without them," Johnson added.

ICC Test Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order): David Warner (Aus), Kane Williamson (NZ), Kumar Sangakkara (SL), AB de Villiers (SA) (wicketkeeper), Joe Root (Eng), Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain), Mitchell Johnson (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng), Dale Steyn (SA), Rangana Herath (SL), Tim Southee (NZ), Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)

ICC ODI Team of the Year is as follows (in batting order): Mohammad Hafeez (Pak), Quinton de Kock (SA), Virat Kohli (Ind), George Bailey (Aus), AB de Villiers (SA), MS Dhoni (Ind) (wicketkeeper) (captain), Dwayne Bravo (WI), James Faulkner (Aus), Dale Steyn (SA), Mohammad Shami (Ind), Ajantha Mendis (SL), Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)

The full list of winners is:

ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) - Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

ICC Test Cricketer of the Year - Mitchell Johnson (Australia)

ICC Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year - Sarah Taylor (England)

ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year - AB de Villiers (South Africa)

ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year - Gary Ballance (England)

ICC Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year - Preston Mommsen (Scotland)

ICC Twenty20 International Performance of the Year - Aaron Finch (Australia)

ICC T20I Women's Cricketer of the Year - Meg Lanning (Australia)

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award - Katherine Brunt (England)

ICC Umpire of the Year (winning the David Shepherd Trophy) - Richard Kettleborough

LG People's Choice - Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India).

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment