Vijay Hazare Trophy: Virender Sehwag-Gautam Gambhir Flop Show Continues as Himachal Pradesh Beat Delhi

Virender Sehwag scored 11 and Gautam Gambhir hit 23 as Delhi lost by 13 runs to Himachal Pradesh in the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Updated: November 11, 2014 00:26 IST
  • Total Shares
Sehwag Gambhir file
Sehwag and Gambhir during an ODI vs West Indies in 2011.


Dharamsala: Heavyweights Delhi are in serious trouble of getting eliminated at the group league stage after Himachal Pradesh beat Gautam Gambhir-led team by 13 runs in a north zone leg of the Vijay Hazare One day championship on Monday. (Yuvraj Fails as Punjab Lose to Haryana)

Delhi now have lost two out of their three zonal matches having lost the opening round game against Jammu and Kashmir before winning against Punjab in the next game. (Sehwag, Gambhir Woes Continue)

Delhi are in sight of getting eliminated of the National One Day Championships for the second season in a row having failed to cross the initial hurdle during last edition also. Batting first, Delhi scored 244 for six in 50 overs with opener Raghav Dhawan scoring 89 off 120 balls with nine fours and two sixes. Ashish Nehra was clobbered for 68 runs from 10 overs. In reply, Gambhir (23), Sehwag (11) continued their poor form with the bat as Delhi were all-out for 231 in 50 overs with Raghav picking up three for 47. India A player Rishi Dhawan and former IPL player Vikramjit Malik got two wickets apiece.

While Gambhir was caught by Sumeet Verma off Raghav's bowling, Sehwag, who again dropped himself down to No 3 could manage only 11 before being run-out by Verma.

The saving grace for Delhi was Milind Kumar, who manged 69 off 94 balls with five boundaries and a six. However, Milind batted a tad too slow and it was left to Rajat Bhatia (run-a-ball 34) to prop up the scoring. He did that for some time before he was cleaned up by medium pacer Pankaj Jaiswal.

Brief Score: Himachal Pradesh: 244 for 6 (Raghav Dhawan 89, Ashish Nehra 1 for 68).

Delhi: 231 in 50 overs (Milind Kumar 69, Gautam Gambhir 23, Virender Sehwag 11). HP won by 13 runs.

Points: HP 4; Delhi 0.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment