India vs Sri Lanka ODIs: Angelo Mathews to Lead; Sangakkara, Mahela in 15-man Squad

Sri Lanka will play five ODIs between November 2-15 after West Indies players refused to continue their tour of India.

Updated: October 22, 2014 16:14 IST
  • Total Shares
Kumar Sangakkara being carried around after Sri Lanka's T20 World Cup win in 2014


Angelo Mathews will lead a 15-man Sri Lankan squad in the upcoming five-match ODI series in India. The islanders are filling in for West Indies, whose players had dramatically quit the tour of India after the fourth ODI in Dharamsala last weekend. The hurriedly arranged ODIs will be played between November 2 and 18. The venues will be Cuttack, Hyderabad, Ranchi, Kolkata and Ahmedabad.

The Lankan team, named for the first three ODIs, has three former captains - Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena and Tillakaratne Dilshan. Lasith Malinga will not be touring but the bowling has enough depth with former world No. 1 Nuwan Kulasekara in the squad. The Lankans will arrive on October 28.

Squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Kusal Janith Perera, T.M Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Ashan Priyanjan, Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Dhammika Prasad, Lahiru Gamage, Chathuranga De Silva, Seekuge Prasanna, Suraj Randeev.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment