India Pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar in Race for ICC People's Choice Award

India quickie Bhuvneshwar Kumar to compete with Mitchell Johnson, Angelo Mathews and Dale Steyn. Winner to be announced in Dubai on November 5.

Updated: October 08, 2014 12:04 IST
  • Total Shares
Bhuvneshwar Kumar Lords
File Photo: Bhuvneshwar Kumar celebrates with teammates at Lord's.

© AP

India pace spearhead Bhuvneshwar Kumar is among five cricketers shortlisted by the International Cricket Council for the annual People's Choice Award. Five players from five different countries are nominated to win the only award voted for by the public at the annual ICC Awards.

The quintet of players nominated for the award are England women's captain Charlotte Edwards, Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, Kumar, Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews and South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn.

Fans will have the opportunity to decide the winner by voting for their favourite player either via or via Twitter using the hashtag #lgiccawards.

Voting for the People's Choice Award is now open and will close at midnight (UAE time) on Thursday, October 30. The winner, as well as the ICC Test and ODI Teams of the Year and the short-list for the remaining ICC Awards 2014 will be announced on November 5.

The short-list was nominated by an elite panel of cricket experts, which is headed by ICC Cricket Committee Chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble. Other members of the panel are Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women's Committee.

This year's fan favourite will join the exclusive company of previous winners, Sachin Tendulkar (2010), Kumar Sangakkara (2011 and 2012) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (2013).

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment