ICC gives Netherlands, Nepal T20 International Status

Netherlands and Nepal had both qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

Updated: June 28, 2014 16:22 IST
  • Total Shares
Netherlands had qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.


The International Cricket Council, under the chairmanship of Narayanaswami Srinivasan, met on June 27 and 28 during the ICC Annual Conference week in Melbourne. Among the decisions made, the ICC Board agreed to give T20I status to the Netherlands and Nepal, both of which qualified for the World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

This means there are now eight Associate sides with T20I status. The other six are Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and United Arab Emirates (UAE) which already have T20I status by virtue of having ODI status. (Also read: Srinivasan under fire from Australian media)

The ICC Board noted the significant progress made on the Future Tours Programme (FTP) that has been extended through to 2023 and expressed satisfaction that there was now more certainty around long-term scheduling with a reasonable balance between home and away matches for all 10 teams as well as between the three formats.

The ICC Board agreed with the ICC Chief Executives' Committee (CEC) recommendation that the Members must sign all bilateral agreements through to 2023 before the next ICC meeting, which takes place in October.

The ICC Board noted a number of other changes approved by the CEC, which met on Tuesday. The major changes to the ICC playing conditions for international cricket will come into effect from October 1, 2014. (Related: FICA raps ICC over Srinivasan appointment)

# A bowler who has spent time off the field in a Test will be allowed to resume bowling after he has either spent the same period of time on the field as he spent off the field, or he has been back on the field for 30 overs, whichever occurs first.

# A T20I innings will be scheduled to span 85 minutes, instead of 80 minutes.

# The trial regulation allowing an 80-over top-up of unsuccessful DRS player reviews will be extended for another 12 months.

Integrity issues

The ICC Board received the annual anti-corruption report from Sir Ronnie Flanagan, the Anti-Corruption and Security Unit Chairman, who repeated the need for the ICC to maintain its vigilance in the area of anti-corruption and also sustain the current high levels of education and strategy of prevention.

The ICC Board discussed and agreed on the Terms of Reference for a review of cricket's anti-corruption processes and resources at both international and domestic level.

The review group, which is aimed at improving the structures and resources, will be chaired by ICC Chief Executive David Richardson and will also include ECB Chief Executive David Collier, BCCI representative Sundar Raman, James Sutherland, the Cricket Australia Chief Executive, and an independent expert.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment