Robin Uthappa Named in Suresh Raina-Led Indian Team for ODI Series vs Bangladesh

Robin Uthappa last played an ODI for India in 2008. His recent form for Kolkata Knight Riders in the Indian Premier League however has made his return to the national colours easy.

Updated: June 11, 2014 00:19 IST
  • Total Shares

Kolkata Knight Riders opener Robin Uthappa has been named in the Indian ODI squad for the three-match series against Bangladesh starting June 15. The team will be under Suresh Raina as regular skipper MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli have been rested. (Also read: Gambhir returns to Team India for tour to England)

While Uthappa - who last played for India in 2008 - was selected on the basis of his good form in the Indian Premier League where he is currently the highest run-getter, Raina returns after being dropped for the Asia Cup.

The other notable inclusions in the side are IPL stars batsman Kedar Jadhav - highest scorer in Ranji this season, pacer Mohit Sharma and all-rounder Stuart Binny while Rohit Sharma has been given a break.

Full Indian squad to Bangladesh: Raina (C ), Uthappa, Rahane, Pujara, Rayudu, Manoj, Jadhav, Saha, Rasool, Akshar, Vinay, Umesh, Binny, Mohit and Mishra

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment