Murali shielded after 'doosra' decision

Sri Lanka's ace offspinner Muttiah Muralitharan, was kept away from the media at the Queens Sports Club ahead of the final Test against Zimbabwe.

Updated: February 25, 2007 10:06 IST
  • Total Shares
Bulawayo:Sri Lanka's ace offspinner Muttiah Muralitharan, who last week beat the world record for the highest number of test wickets, was kept away from the media at the Queens Sports Club today ahead of the second and final Test against Zimbabwe. Sri Lanka cricket authorities have told Muralitharan not to bowl the "doosra" - a ball that spins away from the right-handed batsmen - after an analysis by the University of Western Australia done on behalf of the International Cricket Council found that Muralitharan's doosra was in breach of the current laws on throwing. Team manager Anjit Jayasekara said Muralitharan wouldn't answer any questions on the issue. "I have nothing to say about it and neither has Murali," he said. Muralitharan has been given a year by the ICC to resolve the problem with his bowling action or keep the "doosra" away from international cricket. The off-spinner has fully recovered from a finger injury incurred while bowling in the first Test at Harare last weekend and will be available for the second Test. The second Test beginning tomorrow may be a short-term affair. Sri Lanka beat the inexperienced and makeshift Zimbabwe side in the first Test last week by an innings and 240 runs inside three days. Zimbabwe have left out Blessing Mahwire, the medium-fast bowler reported for a possible illegal action by match referee Mike Procter of South Africa. Mahwire has six weeks to alter his delivery to the satisfaction of the International Cricket Council and is receiving help in Harare. Zimbabwe made two changes to the side announced yesterday. Mark Vermeulen came in for Vusi Sibanda, and Tawanda Mpariwa replaced Prosper Utseya, who injured a shoulder. Teams: Zimbabwe: Tatenda Taibu (captain), Dion Ebrahim, Brendan Taylor, Mark Vermeulen, Stuart Matsikenyere, Alester Maregwede, Mluleki Nkala, Elton Chigumbura, Douglas Hondo, Tawanda Mpariwa, Tinashe Panyangara. Sri Lanka: (from) Marvan Tapattu (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillikaratne Dilshan, Thilan Samaraweera, Sanath Jayantha, Chaminda Vaas, Nuwan Zoysa, Dilhara Fernando, Muttiah Muralitharan, Farveez Maharoof, Upul Chandana, Ian Daniel, Prasanna Jayawardene. Umpires: Rudi Koertzen, South Africa and Billy Bowden, New Zealand. Match referee: Mike Procter, South Africa. (AP)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment