Chennai Super Kings first team to win 60 IPL matches as Raina becomes highest run-getter

Chennai Super Kings, after losing their opening match in IPL 7, made a strong comeback against Delhi Daredevils.

Updated: April 22, 2014 18:13 IST
  • Total Shares

Chennai Super Kings, the two-time Indian Premier League champions, pocketed their first points in the seventh edition of the tournament in Abu Dhabi on Monday night. Having lost their first game against Kings XI Punjab, CSK made a stunning comeback whipping the Daredevils by 93 runs in a one-sided contest.

Suresh Raina hit a Man-of-the-Match winning 56 as CSK scored 177 for 7 after making a cautious start. Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravidra Jadeja and Ishwar Pandey took two wickets each as Delhi folded for a paltry 84, the lowest in IPL 2014 so far, to hand Chennai their biggest win in terms of runs. (Highlights of Chennai Super Kings' crushing win over Delhi Daredevils)

Chennai's 93-run triumph was their biggest in terms of runs at the IPL, bettering the 92-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore at Port Elizabeth on April 20, 2009. Their previous biggest win over Delhi was by 86 runs (twice) - at Chennai on May 25, 2012 and at Delhi on April 18, 2013. (CSK's Dwayne Bravo out of IPL 7 with shoulder injury)

CSK also became the first team to register 60 wins in IPL. They have lost 39, tied one and one match finished without a result. Chennai have played 101 matches so far, with a winning percentage of 60.50. (CSK vs DD: match report)

Delhi seem to be Chennai's favourite punching bag. Of the four biggest wins in terms of runs by Chennai, three are against Delhi. Chennai have won nine and lost four out of 13 contested against Delhi. Chennai have won five games in succession for the first time against Delhi in IPL. (MS Dhoni the only leader in a team of captains, says McCullum)

From a batsman's point of view, Raina (56 off 41 balls) posted his 20th innings of fifty-plus in IPL. He has a hundred and 19 fifties. Raina has emulated the feats of Chris Gayle (4 centuries + 16 fifties) and Gautam Gambhir (20 fifties). All three share a record for most fifty-plus innings (20) in the tournament.

Raina, with 2882 runs (ave.35.14) in 101 matches, is the top run-scorer at the IPL overall, extending his record. Raina, with 53 catches, has also extended his fielding record. Raina was adjudged MOM for the 15th time in T20. Yusuf Pathan and Raina share a record for most MOM awards by an Indian player in T20. Raina has received nine IPL Man of the Match awards.

The only bright spot for Delhi on Monday was left-arm pacer Jaydev Unadkat, who recorded his best figures (3/32) for Daredevils in the IPL. Unadkat has a five-wicket haul to his credit in the IPL -- 5 for 25 for Bangalore versus Delhi at Kotla on May 10, 2013.

(With inputs from Rajesh Kumar)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment