ICC World Twenty20: MS Dhoni named captain of Dream Team

Apart from Indian captain MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma figure in the 12-man squad named by ICC after the World Twenty20 championship that Sri Lanka won. No place for AB de Villiers and Angelo Mathews.

Updated: April 08, 2014 13:54 IST
  • Total Shares

The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the men's Team of the Tournament of the ICC World Twenty20, with India's MS Dhoni being named captain. The team includes four players from India, two from both South Africa and West Indies, and one representative each from Australia, Netherlands and champions Sri Lanka. (Kohli, Ashwin achieve career-best T20I rankings)

Chosen by a select group of experts, including former legends Wasim Akram, Nasser Hussain and David Boon, the team was aimed at being suited for Bangladesh conditions, on the basis of performances in the tournament only. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections. (Dhoni mum on Yuvraj)

Selection panel chairman and member of the Elite Panel of ICC Match Referees, Boon, said of the selection: "It was a very difficult task for the panel to pick a team of 11 from the exciting players who featured in this tournament.

"As the selection criteria for the Team of the Tournament are the performances of players in the conditions during the ICC World Twenty20 2014, some of the best players in world cricket had to be left out of the team.

"Bowlers in particular performed strongly throughout this tournament, and the side we have selected includes three of the most impressive bowlers in Dale Steyn, Samuel Badree and Lasith Malinga. The team also contains six specialist batsmen, including Stephan Myburgh from the Netherlands as an opening batsman, as well as three all-rounders, including Dhoni as a wicket-keeper batsman." (God was smiling on Sri Lanka: Kohli)

The panel faced a difficult choice for a number of positions, and players who were considered but who did not ultimately make the team included India's Amit Mishra, Pakistan's Ahmed Shehzad, the South Africa duo of AB de Villiers and Imran Tahir, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews and Rangana Herath, and West Indies' Dwayne Bravo and Sunil Narine. (Scorecard)

ICC World Twenty20 Men's Team of the Tournament (in batting order): Rohit Sharma (India) - 200 runs, Stephan Myburgh (Netherlands) - 224 runs, Virat Kohli (India) - 319 runs, JP Duminy (South Africa) - 187 runs, Glenn Maxwell (Australia) - 147 runs, MS Dhoni (India - captain, wicketkeeper) - 50 runs, six dismissals, Darren Sammy (West Indies) - 101 runs, Ravichandran Ashwin (India) - 11 wickets, Dale Steyn (South Africa) - nine wickets, Samuel Badree (West Indies) - 11 wickets, Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka) - five wickets; 12th Player: Krishmar Santokie (West Indies) - eight wickets.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment