Wriddhiman Saha helps Bengal thrash Tripura in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20

Wriddhiman Saha slammed a 37-ball 71 with three sixes and nine fours to help Bangal crush Tripura by 72 runs in their East Zone match in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 Trophy on Friday.

Updated: April 04, 2014 17:42 IST
  • Total Shares

Kolkata: Wriddhiman Saha continued his sparkling form as his successive half-century fashioned Bengal's 72-run win over Tripura in their East Zone league for the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament played at the JU second campus ground in Salt Lake on Friday. (Adjoining image is a file photo of Wriddhiman Saha)

Saha was at his devastating best slamming three sixes and nine boundaries for a 37-ball 71 to set the tempo, while Pankaj Shaw, Sanjib Sanyal and Arnab Nandi toyed with the Tripura attack to post a huge 196/5 after electing to bat. (Also read: Sehwag, Gambhir power Delhi to fourth straight win)

Tripura were never really in the game and began disastrously to be eight for three that included inform skipper Yogesh Takawale as Ashok Dinda (2/13) struck twice in two overs.

In no time they were reduced to 27/5 before Kaushal Acharjee put some life into the chase with a fighting 41 from 36 balls (5x4, 1x6) but it was not enough as Bengal restricted Tripura to 124/8 in 20 overs for their third win in as many matches to virtually make the main round. (Related: Yusuf powers Baroda to victory over Maharashtra)

Saha put up 79 runs with Tiwary (25) before Shaw along with Nandi and Sanyal hammered Tripura attack in two entertaining partnerships of 43 from 27 balls and 40 from 13 balls respectively to surge the total.

Shaw hit four boundaries and one six in his 24-ball unbeaten 38, Sanyal slammed three fours and two sixes en route to eight-ball 25 not out, while Nandi too contributed a valuable 26 from 16 balls (3x4, 1x6).

Brief Scores

Bengal 196/5; 20 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 71, Pankaj Shaw 38 not out, Arnab Nandi 26, Sanjib Sanyal 25 not out, Manoj Tiwary 25) b Tripura 124/8; 20 overs (Kaushal Acharjee 41, Vijay Bhardwaj 23) by 72 runs.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment