'A million-pound asset' Kevin Pietersen in England's provisional ICC World Cup T20 squad

Kevin Pietersen has been named in England's provisional 30-member squad for this year's ICC Twenty20 World Cup in Bangladesh

Updated: January 15, 2014 17:29 IST
  • Total Shares

He has just played one T20 international in nearly two years, but Kevin Pietersen has been named by England selectors on Wednesday in the provisional 30-member squad for this year's ICC T20 World Cup in Bangladesh. His Test future may be in doubt after Australia routed England 5-0 in the Ashes series, but England's limited coach Ashley Giles has called Pietersen a "million-pound asset." (Related: KP rules out retirement)

Giles hinted that Pietersen was an automatic choice when the selectors picked the players. "There was no discussion about leaving Kevin out," Giles said. "He's another million pound asset at least, he might be worth a bit more than that. He's a fantastic player and he's shown that in T20 cricket. He's not played that much for me in T20, but in other competitions how dangerous he can be."

England have won one ICC World T20 title since the tournament began in 2007 beating Australia in 2010 in Barbados. In the 2012 tournament which was held in Sri Lanka England reached the Super Eight stage with 14 players from that squad included in the provisional squad for the 2014 tournament. Led by Stuart Broad, England will face New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa and a qualifier in Chittagong in the group stages of the 2014 competition. The squad will be halved to a final 15-man squad following the three-match T20 series against Australia beginning on January 29.

Pietersen is expected to play in a short one-day and T20 tour to West Indies ahead of the World Cup in Bangladesh. He was Man of the Tournament when England won the World T20 in the Caribbean.

Provisional squad:
Stuart Broad (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Ravi Bopara, Scott Borthwick, Tim Bresnan, Danny Briggs, Jos Buttler, Michael Carberry, Jade Dernbach, Steven Finn, Harry Gurney, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Craig Kieswetter, Michael Lumb, Eoin Morgan, Graham Onions, Steven Parry, Samit Patel, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, James Taylor, James Tredwell, James Vince, Chris Woakes, Luke Wright.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket

Leave a comment