Bishan Singh Bedi panel crashes to defeat in Delhi & District Cricket Association polls

While Sneh Bansal got 3433 votes, Bishan Singh Bedi could only manage 285 votes while none of the other international cricketers could manage even 200 votes in their respective categories.

Updated: December 30, 2013 20:04 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Sneh Prakash Bansal and his panel today swept the Delhi & District Cricket Association polls with a landslide victory over former India captain Bishan Singh Bedi's faction as the former India captain lost the president's election by a massive margin of 2148 votes here on Monday.

While Bansal got 3433 votes, Bedi could only manage 285 votes while none of the other international cricketers could manage even 200 votes in their respective categories.

"Out of 4300 votes, we had already submitted 3400 proxy votes by 10 am. So it has been a big victory for us. The members have shown their faith in us and we will have to continue doing the good work," DDCA vice-president Chetan Chauhan, who also eased back to his vice-president's chair with 3442 votes, told PTI today.

Surinder Khanna lost general secretary's election to Anil Khanna by 2345 votes. Anil Khanna got 3514 votes to former India glovesman's 169 votes.

Hero of 1983 World Cup victory Madan Lal was the biggest loser as he was thrashed by incumbent Sunil Dev by a whopping margin of 3258 votes for the Sports Secretary's post. While Dev polled 3430 votes, former India all-rounder could only manage 172 votes.

Two other international cricketers Gursharan Singh and Abbas Ali Baig fought for a place in executive committee but got a meagre 163 and 169 votes.

While Bedi faction raised objections about the manner in which AGM was conducted, Bansal & Co. showed that with the system of proxy votes in place, it's near impossible for an outsider to win an election.

"The proxy vote system is allowed in company act. We are not doing anything illegal. There was an election and we have got the mandate," new president Bansal said after taking over the charge.

About the allegations regarding bungling of funds and age-fudging, Bansal said, "These are all baseless things that there have been bungling of funds. Yes, there has been an SFIO (Serious Fraud Investigation Office) inquiry but corrective measures have been taken. For age fudging, we have followed the standard procedures of BCCI's age related system." Will Bedi's voice be heard by this committee, he answered, "The offer and suggestions of help have to come from their side."

Sports secretary Sunil Dev, who retained his seat by walloping Madan Lal, said that "proxy system has helped DDCA keep away the unwanted elements from the association or else it would be hell".

Bedi, on his part, was livid in the manner the AGM was conducted.

"The outgoing president while answering a query said that the next match will be held at the Kotla. He perhaps didn't know that this is Delhi's last match of the season."

The Dharna organised by the Bedi faction turned out to be a damp squib as there wasn't even 10 people in attendance.

Former India all-rounder Kirti Azad said that they are planning to move court against the proxy system.

"We are moving court to get DDCA dissolved as a company. We have raised the voice and our fight against corruption will continue," Azad said.

Outgoing president Jaitley watched the proceedings as Virender Sehwag came and took his blessings with the two being engaged in animated discussion for close to half an hour.

List of office bearers:

Sneh Prakash Bansal (President) bt Bishan Bedi 3433-285

Vice-president: C K Khanna (3469), Chetan Chauhan (3442), Ganga Prasad Gupta (3608);

General Secretary: Anil Khanna bt Surinder Khanna 3514-169

Sports Secretary: Sunil Dev bt Madan Lal 3430-172.

Club Secretary: Sunil Kumar Jain bt Sanjay Agarwal 3664-09

Treasurer: Ravinder Manchanda bt Rejeev Agarwal 3583-92.

Executive Committee: Ajay Sharma (3651), Ashok Sharma (3561), Brij Mohan Gupta (3650), Harsh Kumar Sharma (3429), Siddharth Singh (3567), Surya Prakash Singh (3091), Vikas Katyal (3500) and Vishwanath Aggarwal (3461).

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

  • Cricket
  • DEL
  • Bishansingh Giansingh Bedi

Leave a comment