Graeme Smith returns to South Africa Test, ODI squads for Pakistan series

Graeme Smith had two pins inserted in his ankle to repair a stress fracture and has been in rehabilitation since May. The two teams are scheduled to play two Tests, five ODIs and two T20Is in the UAE.

Updated: September 10, 2013 15:36 IST
  • Total Shares

South Africa skipper Graeme Smith has been named in both the Test and ODI squads for the series against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates next month, despite suffering a stress fracture earlier this year.

"We should have a definite picture on the status of Graeme's recovery from surgery within the next two weeks," said CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson. "We will obviously be monitoring Graeme's condition very carefully and do not want to overload him too much during the early stages of his return."

Smith had two pins inserted in his ankle to repair a stress fracture and has been in rehabilitation since May. The Proteas will play two-Tests, five ODIs and two Twenty20 games in the UAE starting October 14.

Dale Steyn also returns to the ODI squad after making a full recovery from recurring injuries that kept him out of the Sri Lanka tour in July. Imran Tahir, Wayne Parnell and Vernon Philander have also been recalled in the ODI side. (Related: Fit-again Dale Steyn ready to boost Sunrisers in CLT20)

"Both Imran and Wayne had good tours to Sri Lanka in the T20 series while we want to give Vernon the chance to show us what he can do. He and Wayne are both good lower-order all-rounders and have the ability to contribute significantly in the batting department as well.

"We have retained the 15-man Test squad that has served us so well over the past couple of years. They have impressed not just with the results but with the depth in the squad and a notable feature has been the manner in which players have put up their hands when we have had the inevitable injuries," said Hudson. (Also read: Hashim Amla dominates CSA awards, bags four honours)

The T20 squad will only be finalised after the Champions League T20 in India that concludes on October 6.

Test squad: Graeme Smith (captain), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile.

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Ryan McLaren, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Graeme Smith, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment