Jayasuriya back in Sri Lanka's limited-overs squad

Sri Lanka allrounder Sanath Jayasuriya has been recalled to the national ODI and Twenty20 side for the upcoming series against England and Scotland.

Updated: June 09, 2011 12:15 IST
  • Total Shares

London: Sri Lanka allrounder Sanath Jayasuriya has been recalled to the national ODI and Twenty20 side for the upcoming series against England and Scotland. Middle-order batsman Thilina Kandamby and wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Chandimal have been recalled while there is no place for Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera and Rangana Herath.

There was recent speculation over the possible inclusion of Jayasuriya, who turns 42 in June, following the thumb injury sustained by captain and opener Tillakaratne Dilshan in the second Test against England that has put him in doubt for the third Test, although he has been named in the limited-overs squad. Dilshan's injury means that Sri Lanka could be without their two first-choice openers for the initial one-day games against England as Upul Tharanga has been ruled out of the tour as he prepares to face a disciplinary committee for failing a drugs test during the World Cup.

Jayasuriya, retired from Tests in 2007, but continued to play in limited-overs cricket. He last played in an ODI for Sri Lanka in 2009 and was left out of the list of 20 players who were offered central contracts by Sri Lanka Cricket in 2010. Though he was named in the provisional squad of 30 for the 2011 World Cup, he did not make the final 15.

Kandamby was not part of the World Cup squad, and last played an ODI for Sri Lanka in 2010. He averages close to 33 in the 33 ODI games he has played. Kandamby has been named vice-captain of the limited-overs squad ahead of former captain Kumar Sangakkara who is Dilshan's deputy in the ongoing Test series in England. Sri Lanka have also included allrounder Jeewan Mendis and wicketkeeper-batsman Dinesh Chandimal. This means they could have a new-look middle order as Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera and Chamara Silva, who were part of Sri Lanka's World Cup squad, have been dropped.

Sri Lanka have also included left-hand opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne. The 23-year old has been part of the Sri Lanka Under-19 and Sri Lanka A squad and has been in good form in the domestic season. Fast bowler Suranga Lakmal, currently part of the Test squad, finds a place in the limited-overs squad but legspinner Rangana Herath, who featured in the World Cup squad, has been dropped.

Allrounder Angelo Mathews, who missed the World Cup final due to a quadriceps muscle injury and was subsequently ruled out of the IPL and the England Tests, has been provisionally included in the 16-man squad, subject to his fitness.

Sri Lanka play a one-off Twenty20 game June 25. The five-match ODI series begins on June 28 and they then travel to Scotland for two ODIs against the hosts on July 11 and 13.

Limited-overs squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (capt), Thilina Kandamby (vice-capt), Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Dinesh Chandimal, Jeevan Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thissara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekera, Suranga Lakmal, Dilhara Fernando, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis Angelo Mathews, Sanath Jayasuriya.

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment