Hockey India Announces Women's Team for Commonwealth Games

Ritu Rani will lead the Indian women's hockey team at the 2014 Commonwealth Games, as announced by Hockey India.

Updated: July 15, 2014 19:04 IST
  • Total Shares
Ritu Rani will lead the Indian women's hockey team in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.
Ritu Rani will lead the Indian women's hockey team in the 2014 Commonwealth Games.


New Delhi: Hockey India (HI) named its 16-member women's team for the Commonwealth Games scheduled to take place in Glasgow from July 23 to August 3.

The squad was chosen by HI selectors B.P. Govinda, Harbinder Singh, Surinder Kaur along with high performance director Roelant Oltmans, chief coach Neil Hawgood and scientific advisor Matthew Tredrea during the selection trials conducted at National Institute of Sports (NIS) Patiala from June 28-29. Midfielder Ritu Rani (179 caps) will be the captain while defender Deepika (126 caps) will be the vice-captain of the team.

"It's an honour to captain a team which is capable of beating any team on any given day. The entire team is looking forward to the upcoming tournament and we are confident that we will win and get back laurels. We are ready and excited for our first clash against Canada in our opening match," Rani said.

The team recently whitewashed Malaysia 6-0 in an away series and is looking forward to the CWG challenge. The team will start their voyage in Scotland by taking on Canada in their first match July 24 followed by New Zealand (July 27), Trinidad and Tobago (July 28) and South Africa (July 30). A preparatory camp is currently underway at NIS until the departure of the team July 9.

"The team showcased good play, team spirit and a go-getter spirit in the recently concluded Malaysian tour. Each one of them had performed remarkably under the proficient leadership of Ritu Rani and has earned their position to make it to the team for the all important Commonwealth Games," said Hawgood.

"I hope the team continues its form and make themselves a team where the opponents feel the pressure of meeting them on the field."

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Savita (79 Caps)

Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka (57 Caps), Deepika (126 Caps), Kirandeep Kaur (139 Caps), Namita Toppo (46 Caps), Jaspreet Kaur (57 Caps)

Midfielders: Ritu Rani (179 Caps), Sushila Chanu (71 Caps), Lilima Minz (28 Caps), Vandana Katariya (99 Caps), Navjot Kaur (22 Caps)

Forwards: Rani (111 Caps), Poonam Rani (113 Caps), Ritusha Arya (15 Caps), Anupa Barla (33 Caps), Anuradha Devi (62 Caps).

For the latest Sports news , like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment