Champions League Twenty20: Chennai Super Kings Skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni a T20 Run-Machine

Chennai Super Kings captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has become the fifth Indian batsman after Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli to score 4000 runs in Twenty20 cricket.

Updated: September 28, 2014 13:48 IST
  • Total Shares
MS Dhoni Run Machine
MS Dhoni scored 35 off 16 balls against Perth Scorchers.


Chennai Super Kings skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni on Saturday became the fifth Indian batsman to aggregate 4000 runs - 4012 - in Twenty20 cricket during his 35-run knock against Perth Scorchers in the Champions League Twenty20 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore. (Match Report | Highlights)

The four other Indian batsmen to achieve the aforesaid feat are Suresh Raina (5024), Rohit Sharma (4613), Gautam Gambhir (4308) and Virat Kohli (4298).

Dhoni's 16-ball knock that was laced with four sixes proved consequential as CSK defeated Perth by 13 runs to inch closer to the semifinal. Thanks to Dhoni's fiery knock and Ravindra Jadeja's 44 off 28 deliveries, CSK scored 86 runs in the last six overs. They had scored only 69 in the first 14 overs. (Read: Dhoni Calls for Improvement From Batting Unit)

The duo was involved in a 64-run stand for the sixth wicket, helping Chennai post a fighting 155 for six. Ravichandran Ashwin then returned with an impressive three for 20, his best CLT20 performance in the 2014 edition.

Following his three-for, Ashwin became the second Indian bowler after Amit Mishra to scalp 150 wickets - 152 in 146 matches - in T20. Mishra has 162 at 20.40 runs apiece in 132 games. (Match in Pics)

Other Highlights:

# Chennai Super Kings have won 13 games - the most by any team in the CLT20, eclipsing the twelve won by Trinidad & Tobago. Chennai lost 9 and tied one, out of 22 - winning % 61.36.

# Ravindra Jadeja's unbeaten knock of 44 off 28 balls earned him Man of the Match award.

# Jadeja has got his eighth Man of the Match award in Twenty20.

# Perth pacer Yasir Arafat conceded 27 runs in the 19th over - the most by any bowler in the CLT20 2014. Jason Holder and Aizaz Cheema had conceded 26 runs in one over.

(With inputs from Rajesh Kumar)

For the latest Cricket news , Score, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and get the NDTV Cricket app for Android or iOS

Leave a comment